I may have mentioned before that I’m really, really, horrifically bad at remembering birthdays – it’s the number one reason I keep an up-to-date calendar, and even that isn’t foolproof.

And May is The Month of Birthdays.  Literally every weekend (and several week nights) is dominated by cake, ice cream, and presents.  I can’t even estimate the amount of icing I eat in May, but suffice to say it’s too much.  So I suppose I should’ve expected to screw something up sooner or later, but I may have really picked the wrong birthday to skip.

It goes without saying that Boyfriend and I work hard to see each other at least once a month.  Since we haven’t seen one another since early April, the ideal time for me to head up to Boston would’ve been the very first weekend in May – only my cousin was turning 21 and I was otherwise occupied screwing up cupcakes and taking birthday shots with her.  Mother’s Day weekend?  His parents were visiting.  Which brings us to last weekend, when I finally got to make the trip…much to Cousin’s dismay, since she turned 25 while I was in Boston. Obviously, I’m the worst cousin in the whole world.

To chip away at the years of penance I’ll certainly have to do to make up for my stupidity, I had to at least bake a cake for her.  And what was her reaction to the two-layer white chocolate coconut rum cake I presented her with?

“Um, you know I don’t like coconut, right?”

The hole I’m in just keeps getting bigger.

White Chocolate Coconut Rum Cake

I found these layers ridiculously flat – either my baking soda/powder is dead, or I lost something in the merging of too many recipes and ideas to count. Regardless of its teeny little proportions, it was delicious – moist, sweet, and just enough like coconut rum to remind Cousin that while she doesn’t like shredded coconut, she definitely likes the kind that can give you a good buzz.

For the Cake

1 cup sugar

1/3 cup butter

2 eggs

2 tbsp white rum (+ 1 tbsp extra for brushing onto cake)

1 1/2 cup flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 cup milk

1 tbsp vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease two 8-inch cake pans.  Cream butter and sugar together in a medium bowl until pale yellow and creamy.  Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Stir in rum.

In a separate bowl, mix flour and baking powder together.  Slowly add to the wet ingredients, beating until incorporated.  Add milk and beat until smooth.

Pour into prepared pans and cook for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.

When the cake has cooled, poke holes all over cake with a toothpick and brush it evenly with a mixture of 1 tbsp rum, 1 tbsp vanilla extract, and 2 tbsp water.

For the Icing

1 3.5-ounce coconut white chocolate bar (I literally used this only because the store I was at had no other white chocolate; I imagine a regular white chocolate bar – or even white chocolate chips – and a bit of coconut extract or coconut rum would work in place of this)

1 ½ sticks butter, softened

4 tbsp milk or cream

1 ½ cups confectioners sugar

In a double-boiler over medium heat, melt the chocolate bar with the milk/cream.  Once the bar is completely melted, let the mixture cool slightly.

In a separate bowl, beat the butter until creamy.  Add sugar to butter and beat until combined.  Add chocolate, and beat until combined and creamy.

To assemble

If you’ve opted to freeze the cake, defrost it before assembly.  Line a cake plate with parchment paper, and place the first layer in the center of the plate.  Use roughly 1/3 of the icing to cover the top of the base layer.  Lay the second layer on top of the iced bottom layer.  Use the rest of the icing to cover the cake.

