When I went to the farmers market last week, they had a ton of avocados…and they were on sale.  I love avocado.  To me, it screams SUMMER! and BARBECUE! and PARTY! and I wait for them to show up in the spring and summer in all their celebratory glory.  But when they’re finally back, I have no patience: I’ve squeezed their hard green skin twice a day, every day, since the instant I bought them.  Believe me, if there had been riper ones for the taking, this post would’ve happened three days ago.

Alas, this morning, they finally felt ready, but in the blur of my espresso-making, high-heel-wearing, can-I-put-together-a-matching-outfit-for-work-today morning, I didn’t have a spare second to do anything with them.  So, for another day, I pined for them.

Finally, after the gym, I sliced one open and scooped out its supple, buttery interior.  Ahhh, summer – I’ve missed you.  I whipped up a quick riff on huevos rancheros to make my dinner a little more, uh, substantial, but I won’t lie to you and say that it wasn’t all about the avocado.  Well, I suppose it was also a little about the cilantro I cut from what has become a very eager, thriving little plant, considering it lives on my windowsill and I forget to water it more often than not.  But mostly?  Mostly, it was the avocado that did it for me.

Huevos Rancheros

No beans, and I used canned salsa.  Sue me – I couldn’t wait another minute to eat my precious avocado.

1 egg

1 tortilla

1/2 avocado, cubed

1/4 cup shredded cheese

2-3 tbsp salsa

2 tsp minced onion

Salt, pepper, crushed red pepper flakes, to taste

Cilantro (optional, for garnish)

Spray a skillet (large enough for the tortilla to lay flat on the bottom) with cooking spray.  Heat the skillet over medium-high heat and lay the tortilla flat inside.  Sprinkle the cheese on top of the tortilla, letting it start to melt.  Crack the egg over the top of the tortilla.  Cover the pan with a lid, and let the egg cook for two minutes or so, until the white is nearly set.  Flip the entire thing, tortilla, cheese, egg and all, over in the pan. Cook until the egg is set, then slide out of the pan, egg side up.

In a bowl, mash the cubed avocado, onion, salt, pepper, and hot pepper flakes together.

Pour salsa on top of eggs, then add avocado on top of the salsa.  Sprinkle cilantro on top.

