Ah, Spain.  One of the many, many places I failed to get to while studying abroad.  While not necessarily a priority at the time (or, at least a lesser priority than, say, Paris or Rome), Spain has been rapidly climbing my travel wish list in recent years.  First, there was my discovery of paella during my senior year of college.  Next came my introduction to the delicious, teeny delicacies known as tapas.  And finally, my love of Spanish red wine sealed the deal: I’m going to need to get there.  Soon.

Unfortunately, for me, soon is not in the cards at the moment. Since we’re barely a month out from our last Eurotrip, I think it’s safe to say that for right now, the wine, tapas, and this quasi-paella are just going to have to hold me over.

Sorta Paella

I lack the following: a paella pot, a love of seafood, the desire to cook several kinds of meat simultaneously, and, um, rice.  Please don’t judge me – it may not be authetic, but it is delicious.

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

1/2 large onion, diced

1/2 green bell pepper, diced

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

1/2 tbsp garlic, minced

2 links of chorizo, sliced

1 (15-ounce) can of tomatoes and their juice

1 pinch of saffron threads

Salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper to taste

In a large skillet, heat butter and oil.  Over medium-high heat, saute onions until soft and translucent.  Add garlic and cook for about a minute, then add peppers.  Saute 5 minutes, until peppers begin to soften.  Add saffron and chorizo.  Cook for 5-10 minutes, until the meat is cooked, then turn the heat down to medium and add the tomatoes (crushing them against the side of the pot if they’re whole).  Add crushed red pepper, salt, and pepper.  Simmer for 15 minutes to let the flavors meld and heat the tomatoes.  Taste and season again if necessary.  Eat over rice, or, if you’re a rebel like me, quinoa.

