I know, no one but me thinks that it’s cute when I do themes.  I know.  And I promise, I didn’t really mean to do this one.  But the cookies were so good, and the inclusion of grated carrot got me thinking.  Why wouldn’t this be good in other things?  I know I’m far from being a pioneer in this respect, and that I’m far from the first to make carrot cake pancakes, but these were a first in my house.  And if I can have pancakes in a way that allows me to not only side-step the guilt of eating something sweet for breakfast, but actually makes them borderline good for me?  Then yes please.  Sign me up for that plan.

Carrot Cake Pancakes

I actually wished I had a little more nutmeg/cinnamon flavor going on in here, so maybe add an extra pinch of each.  Not feeling adventurous?  They’re still delicious as written – even Brother ate some.

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup milk

1 tbsp sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1 tsp baking soda

1 (largish) carrot, grated

1 egg

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Cooking spray

Butter

Syrup

Mix together flour, spices, baking soda, baking powder, sugar, and salt.  Add grated carrot and mix to coat well with the dry ingredients.  Mix the remainder of the ingredients together, then add wet ingredients all at once to the bowl of dry ingredients.  Stir until everything is combined and you see no more dry flour.  Batter will be lumpy.

Heat griddle/frying pan over medium-high heat and spray with cooking spray.  Drop batter onto the griddle in 1/4 cup scoops.  Once bubbles form on the top, flip and cook until the underside is golden brown and pancake is cooked through.  Remove from griddle, place on plate, top with a pat of butter.  Repeat until the batter is gone, then add syrup and enjoy breakfast.

