These cookies. Oh my, these cookies.  These cookies were many, many things:

1) They were delicious – nutty, light, cinnamon-spiced meringue-y goodness in fun shapes!

2) They were easy enough to make once I discovered that we had a coffee grinder, and that it grinds almonds far better than my teeny, weeny $20 food processor.

3) AN ENORMOUS PAIN IN THE YOU-KNOW-WHAT.

Oh. My. God.  They stuck to everything!!  My hands.  The board.  The rolling pin.  The cookie cutters. The bowl.  The parchment paper for heavenssakes.  And yes, this is after I threw such a tantrum that Mom coerced me into refrigerating them overnight to make the dough easier to work with.  I literally broke a sweat prying these bad boys off of their parchment paper-covered cookie sheet when they emerged from the oven, taunting me in all their stickiness.

“HOW DO I PRY YOU OFF OF HERE!?” I shouted in vain at the browned, puffed gingerbread men on the first cookie sheet.

We’ll never tellllllll…” they whispered back.

Fortunately, once I bit a few of their heads off in a vengeful rage, they were a lot less chatty.

Did I eff up the recipe?  Did I skip a step somewhere?  Who the hell knows – I certainly don’t blame Cakespy for my incompetence.  What I do know is that if (IF) you can get them off of the cookie sheet, they are delicious.  I mean, I can see why they’re famous.  I can also see why the more intelligent sector of the population buys them from a freaking bakery.  It’s ok friends.  One day I’ll learn.  One day.

