I knew this was going to happen it.  I knew it!! I resisted the urge to try out the brown butter thing for years because I knew it would become an instant obsession.  And oh, it was.

 

The cake was one thing – I don’t have the time, energy, inclination, or metabolism to bake that kind of elaborate cake every day.  But when I was standing over the stove, browning the butter, I couldn’t help but think of the possibilities.  And that, my friends, was my downfall.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Especially when Mom brought home fresh sage, and a tiny voice in the back of my mind started chanting sageandbrownbutter, sageandbrownbutter, sageandbrownbutterANDGNOCCHI, SAGEANDBROWNBUTTERANDGNOCCHI. I think we all know that my meager reserves of self-control and I would not survive against that kind of mental onslaught of deliciousness for long.

 

And OH MY GOD was it ever fantastic.  Really, how could it not be?  I melted butter and herbs and poured it over one of my favorite foods in the whole world.  How could I not swoon? Swoon I did, and so will you.

Gnocchi with Sage Brown Butter Sauce

Feeds one person who knows she must eat this in small portions – I would double it unless you’re eating veggies or something on the side, which I was

 

2 tbsp butter

2 leaves of fresh sage

1 cup cooked gnocchi (I used frozen, but if you’re lucky enough to have fresh, I can only imagine the improvement)

1 small handful of chopped walnuts (I used about 4 or 5 halves, chopped)

 

Melt the butter in a small saucepan over medium heat.  As soon as it coats the bottom, add the (whole) sage leaves.  Cook the butter until it becomes deeply golden and smells nutty, stirring frequently to get all of the butter solids off of the bottom.  When the butter is nearly finished, toss in the walnuts to lightly toast them.

Remove the sage leaves from the sauce, and pour over gnocchi.  Love every, single, solitary bite.

