Sometimes I crave pancakes.  And sometimes, it’s 7:00…. PM.  And sometimes, I just bite the bullet and make the damn pancakes.  For dinner.P1040386

 

And sometimes, they’re awesome.  I tend to say that about a lot of pancakes, because pancakes, like waffles, are rarely crappy.  I’m not saying it doesn’t happen, I’m just saying that as long as you have a basic recipe to work with, you can change the flavor profile and the components and still get the result you were after – buttery, soft, melt-in-your-mouth tasty breakfast.  Or dinner. Even random roadside diners in Tennessee can make a decent buttermilk hotcake.  Trust me – I’ve done the legwork.

P1040384

Pinch My Salt even went and created a recipe that I felt good about using as dinner.  I tweaked it a little, but it’s the same general idea – even if I couldn’t resist adding a handful of chocolate chips.  And, um, eating a handful of chocolate chips?  What!? You know I have no self-control when it comes to these things…

P1040388

Pinch My Salt Pumpkin Pancakes

Adapted from here

 

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup wheat germ

1 cup pure pumpkin puree

1 cup buttermilk (or my ghetto-rigged version, which involved a cup of milk and a splash of lemon-juice)

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tbsp vegetable oil

2 eggs

1/2 tsp all-spice

1/2 – 1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

2 tbsp brown sugar

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

 

In a medium bowl, mix together flour, wheat germ, spices, baking powder, baking soda, and sugar.  In a separate (smaller) bowl, mix together eggs, milk, pumpkin and oil.  Add wet ingredients to dry, and mix together: batter will be lumpy.  Add walnuts and chocolate chips, and mix just to incorporate.

Heat a griddle or large saucepan over medium/medium-high heat.  Drop 1/4 cup of batter into the pan, and flip once – when bubbles start to form in the batter.  Once both sides are golden, remove it from the griddle and repeat the process until your out of batter.  Then eat them slower than I did, because my tummy hurts a tiny little bit.

 

What’s that? You’re not sick of pumpkin yet either!? This must be why we’re friends!! CHECK IT OUT:

Pumpkin Bread

Pumpkin Martinis

Pumpkin Souffle

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Pumpkin Ravioli

 

 

 

 

 

