P1040364

Do you want to hear something pathetic?  Of course you do – everyone loves a chance to laugh at someone else’s stupidity.  Or maybe that’s just me…that would be embarrassing.  Anyway

 

So the other night, Cousin and I went to Dave and Buster’s with some friends.  Never been?  It’s Chuck E. Cheese for grown-ups: arcade games, tickets, prizes, and beer.  Trust me – I’m an expert at these things.  I worked at Chuck E. Cheese for three years during high school.  No, I’m not kidding.  I did the birthday dance every two hours from noon till 8PM twice a week.  Go ahead.  I’ll give you a minute to stop laughing.

 

Alright, now that we’ve collected ourselves, allow me to continue.  I spent a lot of time there as a teenager, mostly fending off sticky-fingered children on a sugar high and handing out slices of mediocre pizza.  Oh, and dressing up as the mouse once.  Once! Do we need to take another giggling break?

 

I didn’t have a whole lot to do with any of the arcade games, since I didn’t wear a referee shirt or carry the keys to open any of the machines.  But good lord did those machines cause some drama – and not just with the children.  My favorite day of work at The Cheese (And by favorite, I mean that the best stories came out of it.  It was certainly the worst day I ever spent there) involved two women literally knocking every arcade game around them to the floor.  They wound up wrestling on the ground, pulling one another’s hair, in a flurry of wires and overturned video game machines.  When the dust cleared and the games were righted, the cause of the argument came out: one had called the other’s baby ugly.  Heavens.  Now, I haven’t popped a kid out yet (Phew.  Thank god I have a few more years on that front), but I really don’t think my response would be to start throwing ‘bows.  And I have a temper.

 

Needless to say, I can only imagine what it’s like to work at D&B, where they not only serve (expensive!) beer, but also shots.  I mean really?  Can you think of a worse combination?  The poor waitresses.  I feel for them, I really do.  I especially felt for the one who, at 2AM on Saturday night in Philly, was breaking up a booze-and-video-game-induced brawl between two men in the entryway.

 

But none of that is the funny part (Shocking, right?).  The funny part is that Cousin and Cousin’s Boyfriend had a little basketball competition going on.  Just to set the scene a little here, Cousin’s Boyfriend is tall.  Significantly taller than me, Cousin, and Boyfriend.  And Cousin played basketball for years.  Yours truly, on the other hand, did not.  I can barely get passed the “H” in HORSE in a pick-up driveway game.  It’s sad.  So naturally the inevitable suggestion came out of Cousin’s Boyfriend’s mouth two hours into the night.  “Why don’t you and Katie do a round?” he asked Cousin.

 

UGH.  Whatever, they were properly warned.  In the entire minute the game allows you to shoot free throws – without a moving backboard- I made approximately 8 shots.  Just for reference, others made upwards of 40 and 50.  But here’s the worst part of the whole pathetic adventure: my arms are sore.  Seriously.  I took my sweater off after work and it was effort to lift my arms that far.  And that, my friends, is why I need to spend more time in the weight room.  Or any part of the gym.  Even the parking lot of the gym would be a step in the right direction.

 

Instead, I made a cocktail.  I’m nothing if not consistent.

P1040367

Pomegranate Martinis

Makes one cocktail

 

1 shot Pomegranate Schnapps

1 shot vodka

Splash of lime juice

Pomegranate seeds (What?  You aren’t earnest enough to get them out of their stupid, obnoxious shell?  Fine – it’ll taste the same, it just won’t look as cool.  And, also, I’ll judge you.  Me and my gimpy arms.)

 

In a cocktail shaker, combine vodka, lime juice, and schnapps with ice.  Shake well, then pour into a martini glass (which I don’t have).  Sprinkle in a few pomegrante seeds (they’ll sink, but they taste great by the end of your drink) and serve.

 

 

*On a side note: I am completely floored by the amount of traffic that’s come to this site as a result of WordPress.com‘s (phenomenal!) decision to put my empanadas on their homepage!  Welcome, and thanks so much for all of the wonderful comments!  Keep them coming everyone!

