P1040339

I’ve told you over and over again that I love to bake.  Cookies, bread, cakes….but not pies.  I don’t really know that I’ve ever baked a pie.  Grandmom bakes the pies at Thanksgiving, Christmas, and any other pie-related gathering.  So, needless to say, I’ve never made a pie crust (I’ve made graham-cracker crusts, but I don’t really think the crust of a cheesecake is anything like that of an apple pie) and have no strong feelings about the lard vs. all butter campaign.  What I do know is that on Friday night, when I wanted a quick dinner and my ravoli wrappers had, to my dismay, gone bad, the pie crust became my new best friend.  Or, should I say, the packaged frozen pie crust from the grocery store.

 

Now, don’t judge me.  I made the filling.  I stuffed the “empanadas.”  Did I make the crust?  Heck no.  Was I happy to be eating dinner in 15 minutes versus the undisclosed amount of time it would’ve taken me to find a recipe, make the crust, and roll it out?  Heck yes.  So maybe there was just a little of my least favorite Food Network star in me on Friday.  But let’s just keep that a little secret between us, mkay?

P1040331

P1040332

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PSSSST: I really want this book.  Is it as awesome in real life as it looks on my computer screen??

 

Empanadas with Spinach and Chorizo

Serves 2

 

1 frozen pie crust, defrosted, rolled out, and cut into squares large enough to fold in half after adding filling

1 link chorizo, casing removed, chopped

1-2 big handfuls of spinach, chopped

2 ounces feta cheese

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp garlic

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

 

Heat oil in a saucepan over medium heat and saute garlic for 1-2 minutes.  Add chorizo and cook until meat is cooked through.  Add spinach and cook until wilted down.  Remove from heat and add feta.  Make sure everything is evenly distributed.

 

Place about a teaspoon of filling (unless you made your squares very large or small – mine were about 4  inches across) in the center of the crust, and fold over.  Seal the edges using either a fork or your fingers.

 

Once all the crusts are filled, lay them on the baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes or so – until the crusts are golden brown.

