P1040323

What!?  This is not a cop out!! What do you mean it looks suspiciously similar to a recent post!?  I’m sure I have no idea what you’re talking about.  Really.  I’m shocked that you would accuse me of such blasphemy as having leftovers and using them to feed myself.  Gosh.

 

In all seriousness, though, it really couldn’t be avoided – I’m posting every day, and, just like every other home cook in America, I too have leftovers.  And like every other home cook, I don’t always enjoy eating the same thing more than one night in a row.  Plus, it would make for some pretty boring posts if that was my plan for the month.

P1040319P1040314

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So tonight found me with two sets of leftovers: polenta, from the sucky cranberry sauce attempt, and chorizo, from the P-H-phenomenal arepa experiment.   Rests chin on fist and gazes off into the distance.  But how to combine them…?  Lightbulb appears over head.  Ahh! Yes!  Tamale pie!!

 

In all fairness, I’ve never had tamale pie, but I read a lot of blogs and cooking magazines, and I’ve heard it mentioned once or twice – enough to have a passing knowledge of its general composition.  From what I understand, I made it upside down, lacking in proper salsa and/or barbeque sauce (which I don’t eat anyway), and just generally wrong.  But I don’t care.  As they say: one man’s trash…is my dinnertime treasure.  What do you mean no one says that?  Whatever.  I dare you not to clean your plate.

P1040321

Completely Incorrect but Utterly Delicious Tamale Pie

Makes enough for my solo-dining pleasure

 

1 link of chorizo (with jalapenos if you can find it)

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tbsp olive oil

2 tsp chopped onion

1 slice of pre-cooked, chilled (so it’s solid) polenta – mine was a square because I made it; if you buy it, it’ll probably be round

A sprinkle of shredded cheese

A drop or two of what Brother calls Satan’s Salsa

 

Heat oil in a saucepan over medium-high heat.  Add garlic and onion, cook until translucent.  Remove the casing from the chorizo, and chop it to resemble ground beef (mine crumbled pretty easily, but they don’t always comply like that).  Add to the pan, and cook until the meat is fully cooked.

Remove the meat from the pan and, to the same pan, add the polenta (yumm, beefy goodness and no extra oil).  Cook on one side until browned and heated through, then flip and cook until the bottom is browned as well.  Place polenta on a plate, cover with meat/onion mixture, and sprinkle with cheese.  Microwave (yes, I am lazy) on high for 30 seconds to melt the cheese, and add a little hot sauce or salsa to the top.

 

