Welcome back, everyone.  So glad you’ve decided to join us for the continuation of the crappy photo display here at Mozzarella and Merlot.  We appreciate it deeply.  Tonight’s focus will be the result of leaving last week’s chocolate bread on the counter a leeeeeeeetle too long, thus allowing it to become, well, stale.  Fortunately, I wasn’t the first (and I sure won’t be the last) person to make such an error in judgment, and we have the genius inventor of bread pudding to thank for creating such a fantastic way to salvage otherwise useless bread.  Especially when it’s really, really good bread.

P1040197

Really, it wasn’t the travesty I’m clearly making it out to be because I only left out two slices.  But hey, I’m good at exaggerating and making a big to-do over routine occurances and aren’t we all having more fun because of it?  (Shut up, Boyfriend, I wasn’t talking to you.  Yes, it is a big deal when you don’t watch Grey’s and I have no one to discuss it with promptly at 10:01PM on Thursday.  I don’t care if you have homework and I am not overreacting! GOSH.)  So I figured that it would be a terrible, tragic waste to throw away food I’d slaved over the week before, and I made myself a little individual (and by individual, I mean I had to eat it in two sittings because it was too big to eat all at once – this kind of behavior is where a little thing called foresight would come in remarkably handy) bread pudding.

This is also the continuation of the Katie-feels-she-no-longer-needs-to-consult-recipes portion of the program, so I basically decided to wing it.  I chopped up the bread, beat and egg with some skim milk and a little cinnamon and nutmeg, dumped the whole shebang in a dish, poured almonds on top, and put it in the oven for a half hour.  And wouldn’t you know, it turned out wonderfully!  Not that I’m getting a big head.  No, no – whenever that happens, I just think back to the hot peppers and shudder quietly.  Clearly I still have a few things to learn.

P1040195

Chocolate Bread Pudding

2 thick slices of chocolate bread, cubed

1 egg, beaten

1/2 cup chocolate skim milk

1/4 cup slivered almonda

Dash of cinnamon, nutmeg, and sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a small baking dish.  Mix egg and milk together with spices, then pour into the baking dish.  Add cubes of bread, and press down to make sure all of the bread is submerged in the liquid.  Sprinkle with almonds.

Bake, uncovered, for 30-35 minutes, or until set.

