Yes. Seriously. Please don’t hate me.

P1040123

My name is Katie, and I’m addicted to pumpkin recipes in the fall.

P1040134

What can i say, really?  These things are just damn good.  So good, in fact, that my family went a little (ahem) overboard on them at Thanksgiving last year, and let’s just say that not everyone made it to the turkey-consumption part of the evening.

In case I haven’t mentioned this before (and I don’t think I have), Boyfriend is Jewish, and I am not.  Thus, 90% of the time, we aren’t actP1040128ually forced to choose a single family (or split our time) for a holiday celebration.  On Hanukkah, I was there to spin the dreidel and eat more potato pancakes (with sour cream and applesauce, thank you very much) than I care to admit.  On Christmas Eve, he was there to show my family the fantastically, timed-to-radio-Christmas-music light display in his neighborhood after church.  And on Christmas morning he sang the Hanukkah song (…in the Adam Sandler voice – the kid does a mean impression, probably because he’s completely obsessed.  Seriously.  We see Adam Sandler movies at midnight the night they come out. It’s that bad.) for my family, and ate prime rib with us at Christmas dinner.  At Passover, I struggled through the reading and sat quietly for the singing in Hebrew portion, choosing instead to enjoy my Manischewitz in silence.  A close friend of mine from college has always joked that she needs to date a Jew so she doesn’t have to share holidays, and I have to admit – it ain’t half bad.

P1040117

Thanksgiving offers no such divide, and since our family feasts are located more than an hour apart, we’ve chosen to keep this day separate, with each of us enjoying our own traditions.  Of course, we spend Thanksgiving Eve together, drinking with friends in honor of what most people consider the biggest party night of the year (I was born on New Year’s Eve, so clearly I believe that to be far superior to the other 364 nights of the year), and he makes an appearance before dinner.  But, as he’ll be more than willing to tell you, the hilarity actually ensues long after dinner is over.  Like when I cracked my right eye open last year and found myself asleep on the soooo comfy oversized leather chair in my living room – with Boyfriend staring at me from across the room, shit-eating grin and all.
“Um. How long have you been here?”

“Um. An hour.  I didn’t want to wake you. I figured you had one too many martinis.”

Touche, Boyfriend.  Touche.

P1040130

Pumpkin Martinis

Adapted, unbelievably, from the back of the Hiram Walker Pumpkin Spice Cordial bottle.  Swear.

1 shot of Pumpkin Spice Liqueur (found in the cordial isle)

1 shot of vodka

Dash of cinnamon and nutmeg

Pour both kinds of alcohol, spices, and several ice cubes into a cocktail shaker, and shake well.  Pour into martini glasses by removing the lid and pouring through the strainer.  Enjoy – but be careful, they’re stronger than you think!

