P1040107

Ok everyone.  It’s over.  The pumpkin is gone from the fridge.  Is that a collective sigh of relief I’m hearing out there in blogville!? Well, I can’t say I’m surprised…

What I am surprised about is the ease with which these ravioli came together.  There was not even the remotest chance that yesterday evening, after three flu clinics in a row (during which I answered the question “When will the swine flu shot be available?” approximately 439,945,938 times), I was going to make pasta dough from scratch.  I don’t care how easy it is.  Even the thought of measuring flour exhausted me.  Instead, I took what I think is possibly one of the most ingenius culinary shortcuts ever invented – I used wonton wrappers.

P1040110

Have you ever used these things!? People: they are one dollar at the farmer’s market in my town. One dollar! For seemingly one million tiny little perfectly-cut circles of dough.  The package says it contains five servings, but my dinner creation last night did nothing to diminish the height of the stack.  What these suckers did diminish was my frustration level and cooking time – they cook in about four minutes, and the water isn’t even meant to come to a boil.  Does it get any easier, friends?  I think not.

P1040109

Pumpkin Ravioli
Look for the wonton/dumpling wrappers in the refrigerated section of the grocery store.  Obviously, you can stuff them with anything under the sun, and I’m already plotting our next adventure together. Don’t be surprised if you see them again this weekend stuffed with goat cheese and spinach. Yummmm, goat cheese.

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

1/4 ground chicken

Handful of chopped, frozen spinach

1/4 finely dicely white onion

Pinch of each of the following, or to taste: salt, pepper, cayenne/red pepper flakes, all-spice, nutmeg, and cinnamon

1 tbsp olive oil

Lots of wonton wrappers

Lots of grated parmesan or pecorino cheese

Heat oil in a medium skillet and saute the onion until translucent, but not browned.  Add the chicken and cook until it is broken up and no longer pink.  Add pumpkin and spinach, and cook to heat.  Add spices and mix well.  Remove from heat.

Lay one wonton wrapper flat on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper, and fill one side with about 2 teaspoons of filling.  Wet the outside edge of the wrapper, and seal tightly with your fingers.  Work quickly, as the wrappers will begin to dry out once the filling is inside.  You can either boil them in separate batches, or cover with a damp towel.

Once the ravioli are filled, heat a pot of water until just under boiling.  Drop ravioli in – don’t overcrowd, or they’ll stick together! – and cook until they begin to float and become translucent.

Top with grated cheese, and cracked pepper.

