P1040097

Who’s tired of pumpkin recipes!?! Not me!!

P1040094P1040081P1040095

Seriously. Not me.

P1040079

You can chalk it up to the grocery store having only the unnecessarily large can of pure pumpkin puree when I went to make my bread last week if you’d like (because they did), or you can call me crazy for only wanting to ever eat things that are both warm and fall-themed (which I do).  Or you can attribute it to Mom, who pointed out yesterday that the extra pumpkin would not stay good forever (which it won’t), and my realization this morning that I had cooked literally nothing all freaking weekend (which I hadn’t).  Can we say lazy!? Really, Katie. Just because you spent the weekend drinking wine and alternating between sappy movies and football, does not mean that you have to forsake the kitchen entirely.  Or the gym for that matter…

P1040075

So today I got myself back on track: I watched the news as well as SportsCenter, I went to the gym, and I cooked myself a dinner that did not involve toast.  In my continuing efforts to use all the pumpkin (Don’t you worry – there’s still some left!), I decided to tweak a Gourmet recipe that’s been hovering around the floor of my bedroom (since this is evidently where I’ve decided to store my magazines and the recipes ripped from them) for months.  It’s actually from (gasp) the November 2006 issue, one of many that Boyfriend’s Aunt bestowed upon me in an effort to simultaneously clean her house and make my day.  The enormity of the grocery bag full of them was such that I’m still working my way through the pile, but there are quite a few gems in those old issues that I’m looking forward to trying.  This is one.

P1040093

Pumpkin Souffle

Adapted from Gourmet, November 2006

3 tbsp flour

3 tbsp butter

1 1/2 cups milk

1 1/2 cups pure pumpkin puree

1 cup grated mozzarella cheese

Pinch of salt, nutmeg, cayenne pepper, black pepper, and all-spice

3 large egg yolks

4 large egg whites

Small handful of walnuts, chopped

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Position your oven rack in the center of the oven, and grease a 2-quart shallow baking dish.

In a saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter.  Once butter has melted, add flour and whisk vigorously for 2 minutes.  Slowly add milk to the roux and continue whisking until the milk begins to boil.  Then lower the heat and simmer, whisking occasionally, until the mixture thickens.

Whisk in the squash, cheese, and spices (except the black pepper) and transfer the mixture to a large bowl.  Add in the egg yolks and stir until incorporated.

In a separate, large bowl (remember – they’re going to get a lot bigger), beat the egg whites until they hold stiff peaks.  Fold in a quarter of the egg whites into the pumpkin (be gentle), then slowly incorporate the rest of the egg whites.

Pour mixture into baking dish and bake, uncovered, for 15 minutes.  Then cover loosely with foil and bake for another 25-30 minutes – until the souffle is golden brown, puffed, and just set.

Sprinkle with pepper and walnuts and eat immediately.

