P1030923

Whoa now.  That was a long silence outta me.  Who knew I could be quiet for so long?  It’s been a busy week, thanks in part to the arrival of my busy season at work (seriously – I can’t answer emails for hours on end because I literally cannot see my keyboard under all of the papers on my desk) and also because Boyfriend is moving to Boston today (sniff sniff) and I’m trying to spend every possible moment with him.  In between working for ten- or eleven-hour-days, I’ve been staying up to the wee hours trying to do everything he wants to do before he leaves: see everyone he knows likes in the Tri-State area before his departure, go to all our favorite bars one more time, see one of his favorite bands in concert, get to the beach one last time…you’d think he’s never coming back with the way we’ve been acting.

P1030927We also had to make time for another highly important event – our fantasy football draft.  My first fantasy football draft.  Oh, the pressure.  I volunteered to be one of the (three) girls in our ten-person league because I figured, hey.  I like football.  I watch football.  How hard could this be?  And then I saw the draft sheet.  Woo – there are a lot of players in the NFL.  Seriously.  I’ve never even heard of some of these guys.  And the Lions have players worth drafting!?  I don’t think so, Daunte.

All in all, I think it went rather well.  We weren’t able to do it online because we’re all a little, ahem, computer illiterate P1030929and there was some crisis wherein Yahoo! didn’t allow us to draft the same day we created the league blahblahblah, but having everyone in the same room made for a much more entertaining event.  Of course, I’m not the one who had to input all the data and all 15 players into each team.  So maybe I have a little bit of a skewed view of this.  But from the naming of the teams (ToughActin’Tinactin and PTBruisers to name a few of the less…offensive ones) to the draft itself (Boyfriend kept a timer limiting us to two minutes each…guess who took the longest), it’s definitely something I’d do again.  I say that now – we’ll see what my thoughts are when I’m getting rocked in the standings every week.

So I’ll leave you with a little party food.  Something to munch on as you sweat through your own draft.

P1030928

Garlicky Hummus

1 can garbanzo beans (chickpeas)

1/2 – 1 tsp salt

1/2 – 1 tsp finely diced garlic

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

1/4 tsp pepper

Drain the liquid from the can of garbanzo beans and rinse beans.  Dump beans into food processor and run the machine for about 30 seconds to start breaking them down.  Add the oil and garlic, process until smooth.  Add 1/2 tsp each of salt and garlic, and process to incorporate.  Taste, and add more of each if desired.  Add red pepper and black pepper and process to incorporate.  Serve with pita chips.

