Are you counting down the days till I stop talking about pumpkin?  While my beer tastes have progressed to deeply dark, heavily spiced, warming brews, my culinary tendencies are still lingering over pumpkin – and probably will be until it becomes December, the season of gingerbread.  I can feel you rolling your eyes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve always been mildly terrified of scones.  They’ve always seemed prissy and fussy, and not at all like something I’d be able to create in my kitchen.  Pastry always gets me that way, and I’m not sure why.  A recipe is a recipe, but it’s all the italized “make sure the butter is cold” and the numerous bowls and funny words like “slurry” that make me quickly pass those recipes by.  I don’t have time for fuss (says the girl who will tolerate multiple bread-risings), especially on a weeknight, which is when I chose to make these scones.  But the recipe seemed too perfect – I just happened to have leftover heavy cream and pumpkin, both of which needed to be used up soon.

Of course, I have to mess with even the most perfect recipes, and this one was no exception.  I changed out all the white flour for whole wheat and decreased the cream, sugar, and butter (I know, I know, all the best parts are gone), upped the pumpkin, and added toasted hazelnuts.  And for all the substitutions?  Well, let’s just say that even Brother ate one.  And Brother eats nothing that I like.

Pumpkin Scones

Adapted from Pinch My Salt

 

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1/2 cup wheat germ

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground allspice

1/4 tsp ground ginger

4 tbsp unsalted butter

2/3 cup pumpkin puree

Scant 1/3 cup heavy cream

4 tbsp brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla

1/3 cup toasted hazelnuts, chopped

 

Preheat oven to 425 degrees, and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Cut the butter into small pieces, and refrigerate until you’re ready to use them.  In another bowl, combine flour and wheat germ, baking powder, salt, and all the spices.  Whisk together.  Refrigerate this as well.

In separate bowl, combine pumpkin, heavy cream, sugar, and vanilla.  Whisk together.  Get all of the bowls out of the fridge, and combine the butter and flour, cutting them together with a pastry blender until they resemble course crumb.  Stir in the nuts.

All at once, add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients.  Mix everything together, then turn out the dough onto the counter and push it together to form a dough.  Knead it if necessary, then pat it into a rough circle, about 1 inch thick.  Cut it (as you would a pie) into 16 pieces.

Place all the scones onto the baking sheet, and bake until the bottom is golden and they are completely set.  Cool completely.

